Trip and Temporary Permits

On-line Permit Applications

Apply for (or verify) a 72-hour trip permit, 120-hour fuel permit, or unladen permit by using the

72-hour Commercial Vehicle Registration Trip Permit

120-hour Fuel Permit

Unladen Permit/Hunters Permit

Temporary Intrastate Authority

Rules

What is the purpose of a 72-hour Commercial Vehicle Registration Trip Permit? The 72-hour Commercial Vehicle Registration Trip Permit allows an unregistered commercial motor vehicle or a commercial trailer to be legally registered in Oklahoma on a short-term basis. A 72-hour Commercial Vehicle Registration Trip Permit may be made effective up to 72 hours from the time of purchase. The fee is $12.00. No refunds are allowed.

Who is required to obtain a 72-hour Commercial Vehicle Registration Trip Permit? A 72-hour Commercial Vehicle Registration Trip must be obtained by:

  • operators of commercial motor vehicles eligible for apportioned registration, not currently registered for Oklahoma, that will be traveling in or through Oklahoma
and/or
  • operators of unregistered commercial trailers that will be traveling in or through Oklahoma.

In what areas may the holder of a 72-hour Commercial Vehicle Registration Trip Permit operate? The 72-hour Commercial Vehicle Registration Trip Permit is valid for either interstate or intrastate registration in Oklahoma.

How do you obtain a 72-hour Commercial Vehicle Registration Trip Permit?

A 72-hour Commercial Vehicle Registration Trip Permit may be obtaining by using the or from either of the following:

How do you obtain a commercial vehicle registration trip permit from another jurisdiction? You have to check with each jurisdiction to purchase trip permits.

What is the purpose of a 120-hour Fuel Permit? The 120-hour Fuel Permit allows a commercial motor vehicle to import fuel (carried in its fuel tanks) into Oklahoma. A 120-hour Fuel Permit may be made effective up to 72 hours from the time of purchase. The fee is $25.00. No refunds are allowed.

Who is required to obtain a 120-hour Fuel Permit? Operators of commercial motor vehicles without a valid fuel license who intend to travel into Oklahoma are required to obtain a 120-hour Fuel Permit.

In what areas may the holder of a 120-hour Fuel Permit operate? The 120-hour Fuel Permit is valid for either interstate or intrastate registration in Oklahoma.

How do you obtain a 120-hour Fuel Permit? A 120-hour Fuel Permit may be obtained by using the

or from either of the following:

How do you obtain a temporary fuel permit from another jurisdiction?  You have to check with each jurisdiction to purchase trip permits.

What should you do if the lease with your carrier is broken and the carrier takes the plate and cab card? You may purchase an Unladen Permit, also known as a Hunters Permit, on line. The Unladen/Hunters Permit allows 45 days for you to move your unloaded vehicle from one location to another without violating general registration statutes. The permit is recognized in the lower 48 states and most Canadian provinces. You must still obtain a 120-hour Fuel Permit for fuel tax purposes. An Unladen Permit may be made effective up to 72 hours from the time of purchase. The fee is $25.00. No refunds are allowed.

How do you obtain temporary intrastate authority? There is no temporary authority for intrastate motor carrier purposes. You must have the proper authority before you engage in intrastate motor carrier operations.